Ikaw

I was talking to someone recently about all the good music from the Philippines ( OPM ) – in english and tagalog. Here is what I think is an oustanding example of a song that transends knowing what the words mean – with it's beauty and feeling. It's called Ikaw (You) by Regine Velasquez from the filipino movie Dahil May Isang Ikaw. Regine was also the co-star.
I hear that this song is now a standard in the Philippines, and is often performed as the "Wedding" song…

I finally found the (rough) english translation for it too:

IKAW

Ikaw ang bigay ng Maykapal
Tugon sa aking dasal
Upang sa lahat ng panahon
Bawat pagkakataon
Ang ibigin ko'y ikaw

Ikaw ang tanglaw sa 'king mundo
Kabiyak nitong puso ko
Wala ni kahati mang saglit
Na sa iyo'y may papalit
Ngayo't kailanma'y ikaw

Ang lahat ng aking galaw
Ang sanhi ay ikaw
Kung may bukas mang tinatanaw
Dahil may isang ikaw
Kulang ang magpakailan man
Upang bawat sandali ay…
Upang muli't muli ay…
Ang mahalin ay ikaw

YOU

You are God's fullfillment
The answer to my prayers
So that in all the time
Every moment
The one I'll love is you

You are the light of my world
The other half of my heart
No one else is here – even for a moment
That would ever change me
Now and forever it'll be you

All of my moves
It's because of you
If there is tomorrow that i am looking forward to
Because there is you
Forever is not enough
For every moment..
For ever and ever…
I will love you..

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About mikeymikez

Interested in music, film, good books and Korean culture.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ikaw

  1. Lauren says:

    I can see why it's considered a wedding song… The harp really adds to the whole feel of a ceremony.

  2. Mikey says:

    The filipino heart loves the romantic stuff! 🙂 I think that the movie, with two very attractive stars, Regine and Aga Muhlach and a wedding at the end, helped too… After Lea Salonga, Regine was the first filipino singer I heard about. This was a while back – you really had to search for music back then! She's still huge in asia, even now…btw, I put my Vox blog on facebook notes – via RSS… seems to work well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

