New Laptop and a Cactus

My new laptop arrived promptly today! It's a Dell Inspiron 1501, their great seller these days, it seems. Here are the basic stats:

Item Description Unit Price Quantity Total Price
Inspiron 1501
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual-Core Mobile Technology TK-53, Genuine Windows Vista™ Home Premium
$730.00 1 $730.00
Inspiron 1501 AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual-Core Mobile Technology TK-53
[223-0544]
LCD panel 15.4 inch Wide Screen XGA Display with TrueLife™(glossy)
[320-5173]
Memory 1GB DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHz, 2 Dimm
[311-6692]
VIDEO CARD ATI RADEON® Xpress1150 256MB HyperMemory™ (Integrated)
[320-5127]
HARD DRIVES Size: 60GB SATA Hard Drive (5400RPM)

As you can see, I didn't spring for all the budget buster stuff, like an extra 1gb of memory for $150. Most of what I left off can be gotten later, like that memory – perhaps cheaper by then. It's got Vista, like almost new PCs do, so that should be an experience. (It was either that, or wait two years for MS to get most of the bugs out) 😉

Anyway, the screen it absolutely spectacular, even with the bright sunshine of our kitchen!

The picture isn't the sharpest, but you can get an idea. The first thing I did was try to get it connected to our Wi-Fi. It found our router, plus two other "unsecured" Wi-Fi routers at nearby homes(!) Just for fun, we tried one, and it connected right away. Don't try this at home kids. But it just goes to show you how unprotected the average Wi-Fi setup is. Please use some kind of encryption on your Wi-Fi – Uncle Mikey sez so!!

While connected, I got my mandatory Firefox 2.0 downloaded on it. I plan to use it as the "porch" machine, and so hope to use it mostly for Internet Web 2.0 apps, and not need a lot of other PC based programs. (And I have a Desktop machine for that).

We'll see how it goes. I like to spend a lot of time outside, so hopefully I can be online a lot more now… (and still enjoy the sunshine and breezes of summer! 😛

Oh! And here is the cactus. 🙂

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About mikeymikez

Interested in music, film, good books and Korean culture.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Laptop and a Cactus

  1. Lauren says:

    That looks like a great new laptop. You've gotta be psyched to have a new toy like that. I splurged on a doll this week, and I still really want to get my MacBook, so I'm wondering if it would be so wrong to get one of those now, too. Doh! You're making me want my new laptop. O__O Haha.

  2. Tracy says:

    Awesome laptop! I bet you will have loads of fun with it! ^__~
    Dell seems to be a good brand. That is what brand my computer
    is. Lovely cactus too. I like the little red flowers! 🙂

  3. Mikey says:

    Can't wait to play with it more…. I only had about an hour with it today, before I had to go to work and leave it home, charging… <sob> ;)Yeah, I think Dell is the "no brainer" choice for buying PCs in the US anyway. I loved that I could pick and choose *every* option, and have it custom built for you. Even with free shipping, it arrived very quickly! 🙂 I even "bought" a tree for $2, to compensate for the environmental consequences of using it, plus the California only Electronics Recycling Fee (not optional)

  4. Mikey says:

    [das ist gut]

  5. lemon says:

    That laptop is looking really good… makes me want one too! 🙂

  6. Mikey says:

    I'm loving it so far. Laptops have come so far in their capabilities that they really can replace a desktop unit for many. The screen is so big and bright! 🙂 And portability is fantastic! You really can take it everywhere, especially with so many hot spots around, like all the coffee shops and similar places that offer it free or for a mostly fair price. I put this off for a long time. But I'm glad that I waited, because there is so much on offer for the money now. Just have to master the built in "mouse" and controller thingy! ^^

Leave a Reply

