Sous le Vent

Garou has a voice that once you hear it, you can never forget it. He was made a star by is role in in the French musical Notre Dame de Paris. He's made a good career for himself since, especially in the French speaking world. Here, he sings a duet with Celine Dion – another French Canadian you my have heard of… ๐Ÿ˜‰

Sous Le Vent

Discovered by Luc Plamondon singing American blues tunes in small Sherbrooke bars, he was drafted by Plamondon to play the role of Quasimodo in his musical Notre-Dame de Paris, making him a star. After the musical, he managed to launch a successful international pop music career in Quebec, France, and many other European countries. His looks and hoarse voice, as well as the virility that he combines with a boyish charm, brought many to see him as a major modern day sex symbol.

Et si tu crois que j'ai eu peur, c'est faux
Je donne des vacances a mon coeur, un peu de repos
Et si tu crois que j'ai eu tord, attends
Respire un peu le souffle d'or qui me pousse en avant
Et, fais comme si j'avais pris la mer
J'ai sorti la grande voile et j'ai glisse sous le vent
Fais comme si je quittais la terre
J'ai trouve mon etoile, je l'ai suivie un instant
Sous Le Vent
Et si tu crois que c'est fini, jamais
C'est juste une pause, un repit apres les dangers
Et si tu crois que je t'oubli, ecoute
Ouvre ton port aux vents de la nuit, ferme les yeux
Et fais comme si j'avais pris la mer
J'ai sorti la grande voile et j'ai glissee sous le vent
Fais comme si je quittais la terre
J'ai trouve mon toile, je l'ai suivie un instant
Sous Le Vent
Et si tu crois que c'est fini, jamais
(Sous le vent)
C'est juste une pause, un repit apres les dangers
Fais comme si j'avais pris la mer
J'ai sorti la grande voile et j'ai glisse sous le vent
Fais comme si je quittais la terre
J'ai trouve mon etoile, je l'ai suivie un instant
Fais comme si j'avais pris la mer
J'ai sorti la grande voile et j'ai glisse sous le vent
Fais comme si je quittais la terre
J'ai trouve mon etoile, je l'ai suivie un instant
Sous Le Vent
Sous Le Vent

Translation:
Under the Wind

And if you think I was frightened
It's not true
I'm giving vacations to my heart
Some rest
And if you think I was wrong
Wait
Breathe a little the golden blast
Which pushes me ahead
And

Do as if I took to the sea
I set the main sail
And I glided with the wind
Do as if I left the ground
I found my star
I followed it for a while
Under the wind

And if you think it's over
Never
It's just a pause, a break
After the dangers

And if you think I forget you
Listen
Open your body to the winds of the night
Close your eyes
And

Do as if I took to the sea
I set the main sail
And I glided with the wind
Do as if I left the ground
I found my star
I followed it for a while
Under the wind

And if you think it's over
Never
Under the wind
It's just a pause, a break
After the dangers

Do as if I took to the sea
I set the main sail
And I glided with the wind
I glided with the wind
Do as if I left the ground
I found my star
I followed it for a while

Do as if I took to the sea
I set the main sail
And I glided with the wind
Do as if I left the ground
I found my star
I followed it for a while
Under the wind
Under the wind

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About mikeymikez

Interested in music, film, good books and Korean culture.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sous le Vent

  1. chimera says:

    hello mike. i am chimera from last.fm. i have just read your shoutbox message and after a quick look, i found myself here.
    shame on me but i discovered garou only for weeks ago, thanks a dear, dear friend of mine. he sent me the song " je suis le meme" and i was in love with his voice in that moment!
    then i used the search engines in order to get more information about him and then my friend sent me "belle". i am now more in love with garou *lol*
    i have watched some of the videos (not all of them yet) and i realized that i adore him even when he is talking! he captivates me with his voice! i am not much into french or this kind of music but he has that beautiful, different voice.
    you give some brief and excellent information here. thank you :o)

  2. Mikey says:

    Hi Chimera,Thanks for going to all the trouble to post here. I hope you'll like VOX and the people here and decide to stay. We have VOXers from all of the world! ๐Ÿ™‚ And it's so exciting to share and find new things, isn't it? I found Garou through friends too. His voice and presence want people explore types of music they might not otherwise.Also from from the Notre Dame de Paris French cast recording is a singer called Noa. She is from Israel originally, but performs all over the world. She didn't stay in the cast, but left her memorable performance on the CD. I have one of her songs, English called "Gypsy". You can hear it by clicking HEREMaybe you can share some music from your country Turkey?Nice to meet you and hope to share more here and on LastFM…. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

