The Origin of Love – Hedwig and the Angry Inch

This is a film that's rarely seen, but is fantastic! If you like films that aren't mainstream, but have a lot to offer, this is your film. It's not for the kiddies, but will move you I bet…

Thanks Lemon, for getting me thinking with your Dancer In The Dark post. 🙂

Hedwig and the Angry Inch

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to: navigation, search
Hedwig and the Angry Inch

Hedwig movie poster
Directed by John Cameron Mitchell
Produced by Amy Henkels
Pamela Koffler
Katie Roumel
Mark Tusk
Christine Vachon
Written by John Cameron Mitchell (play; screenplay)
Stephen Trask (play music & lyrics)
Starring John Cameron Mitchell
Michael Pitt
Miriam Shor
Andrea Martin
Alberta Watson
Stephen Trask
Distributed by New Line Cinema
Release date(s) 20 June 2001
Running time 95 minutes
Language English
IMDb profile

Hedwig and the Angry Inch is an off-Broadway musical theater play (premiered 1998) and film (premiered 2001) about a fictional rock and roll band fronted by an East German transgender singer. The text is by John Cameron Mitchell and the music and lyrics are by Stephen Trask. It's been performed throughout the world in hundreds of stage productions, and has slowly but steadily gathered a devoted cult following similar to that of The Rocky Horror Show. Originally directed and produced by Peter Askin, the play won a Village Voice Obie Award and the Outer Critics Circle Award for Best Off-Broadway Musical. The film, adapted and directed by Mitchell, won the Best Director and Audience Awards at the 2001 Sundance Film Festival, the Grand Prize at the Deauville Film Festival, the Berlin Film Festival's Teddy Award, Best Directorial Debut from the National Board of Review and the L.A. Film Critics, and a Golden Globe nomination for Best Actor for Mitchell.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About mikeymikez

Interested in music, film, good books and Korean culture.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Origin of Love – Hedwig and the Angry Inch

  1. Lies says:

    Hedwig and the Angry Inch is one of my favourite movies ever. I even bought Shortbus just because John Cameron Mitchell was the director. (I still haven't watched it though, so I can't really say if Hedwig was a one off or not.)

  2. Mikey says:

    I am always surprised that so many people people have never even heard of it here. Not your typical Hollywood fare, that's for sure! ^^I'll have to check out Shortbus!

  3. SerenityLife says:

    I've never heard of this movie. Good looking out. Looks like something I may have caught on TV on Fox on a late night! But, I am now inclined to rent it!!

  4. Mikey says:

    I think you will love it. It's not for prudes, but the message about how everyone needs love and deserves respect is universal… :)Reminds me of when I first discovered Rent – it just blew me away…

  5. SerenityLife says:

    Ha! I saw Rent and loved it and my mother HATED it. And we saw it on Broadway during a matinee years ago.

  6. Mikey says:

    I think that it's a generational difference, as much as anything. I am more sympathetic, since I never "grew up" either! ^^

  7. Fattypants says:

    Love this movie. I so wish I could have seen it live.
    I don't think whether or not you like this kind of thing is entirely generational. My mom, who have been 64 this year, loved Rent, and we played Seasons of Love at her memorial. Her favorite number was Out Tonight, which always cracked me up (but it probably wouldn't have been appropriate to play that one in a church).

  8. Mikey says:

    I didn't mean to imply that older people wouldn't like this sort of thing, only that's it's a lot more likely that they wouldn't. Older people are generally more conservative, but certainly not all. Your Mom must have been a great lady! And Seasons of Love says it all, doesn't it? 🙂

Leave a Reply

