SDAFF – Day 5

What's coming up today… want to see Tazza: The High Rollers, at least.

The 8th Annual San Diego Asian Film Festival is October 11-18, 2007
eNews : October 15, 2007

Festival News

The festival continues Monday through Thursday, offering a second chance to see many films, including the top films awarded during this year's Gala Awards Dinner. On Thursday, October 18, the festival closes with the West Coast Premiere of WEST 32nd. Director Michael Kang and cast are scheduled to attend.

Latest Sights and Sounds of the Festival on The Buzz

The Buzz brings you the latest sights and sounds from the festival. Check out these short video reports, celebrity photos, blogs, and more.

Winning Films of the 8th Annual San Diego Asian Film Festival

Congratulations to the following filmmakers awarded at the 8th Annual San Diego Asian Film Festival. Most of these award-winning films have multiple screenings, so you can still see them before this year's festival ends on Thursday, October 18.

Music Video
CHAMPION by NATIVE GUNS
Patricio Ginelsa, director

Animation
CITY PARADISE
Gaelle Denis, director

Short Documentary
MOOKEY'S STORY
Carolyn Goossen & Daffodil Altan, directors

Dramatic Narrative Short
MONSOON
Shyam Balse, director

Feature Documentary
NA KAMALEI: THE MEN OF HULA
Lisette Flanary, Director

Dramatic Narrative Feature
OWL AND THE SPARROW
Stephane Gauger, director

Grand Jury
CATS OF MIRIKITANI
Linda Hattendorf, director

Q&A with Jane Kim from TIE A YELLOW RIBBON and WEST 32nd

Jane Kim on her path to becoming an actor: "I think deep down in my heart, I knew this was my path. However, my rational and sensible side pushed me towards becoming an international lawyer. I was on the debate team in high school and was very academic. However, I kept dipping my feet into the entertainment business as I got sponsored to do pageants and actually won. I was Miss Preteen Atlanta and Miss Georgia Teen USA and even ended up competing in Miss Korea."

Continue reading the interview here.

You can see Jane in TIE A YELLOW RIBBON on Sunday, Oct 14 at 2:45 PM and in WEST 32nd on Thursday, Oct 18 at 7:00 PM.

Q&A with David Grabias, Co-Director of the Eye-Opening Documentary, SENTENCED HOME

SENTENCED HOME follows three Cambodian American men who after serving the full sentence for their crimes are deported back to a country that had tortured and murdered their families. Co-director David Grabias hopes his film "encourages people to reconsider the laws and lobby for change."

Read our Q&A with director David Grabias here.

See SENTENCED HOME on Wednesday, Oct 17 at 5:15 PM.

Films Today

Browse the festival schedule

Cats of Mirikitani
6:15 PM

Dim Sum and Then Some
6:30 PM

Year of the Fish
6:45 PM

Tazza: The High Rollers
7:15 PM

Hula Girls
8:00 PM

And Thereafter II
8:35 PM

Baby
8:50 PM

Upcoming Events

High School Matinee (Youth Day)
Oct 16
UltraStar, Hazard Center

WEST 32nd, Closing Night
Oct 18
UltraStar, Hazard Center

From Our Sponsors

CONCEPTUAL OPTIONS
Conceptual Options is looking for Asian American egg donors, ages 25-30, to help infertile couples. Substantial compensation for qualified donors.
www.conceptualoptions.com

Thank you for supporting Asian American cinema.

Please pass this email to friends and family. If you are not already on our email list, sign up at www.sdaff.org. We offer special discounts and free screenings throughout the year to those who sign up. And we never share or sell our email list with anyone.

To unsubscribe from the SDAFF newsletter, click on the Topica unsubscribe link at the bottom of this message.

San Diego Asian Film Foundation

San Diego Asian Film Foundation
7969 Engineer Road, Suite 206
San Diego, CA 92111-0212

www.sdaff.org/festival

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About mikeymikez

Interested in music, film, good books and Korean culture.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SDAFF – Day 5

  1. Tracy says:

    I can't believe I have missed these great posts about the Asian film festival! You are always so informative Mikey! This is really cool! I have been to San Diego twice and I wish I would have been there for this. There is something so romantic about foreign films to me. Maybe it is because they are new from what I am used to in the same ol' Hollywood films. These foreign films to me make me feel like I am in a whole new world and I love that feeling and I love culture. Not just Asian cultures which I write about frequently but all kinds. Asian culture just happens to be my favorite to learn about. ^_____~

  2. Mikey says:

    It is exciting to see these films on the big screen and the atmosphere around them. And I know for a lot of Asians, especially those that grew up here, it's particularly rewarding to have their experiences validated and to get the recognition they deserve. Tears have been shed. If you look at the links, they have videos live from the festival and blogs talking about it, so it's more inclusive for those that can't make it. It's held around mid-October every year, so you can start planning for next time! ;)I'm A Cyborg, But That's OK from Korea, Rainbow Sunset and Hula Girls from Japan, And Isabella from Hong Kong are real stand outs this time. (I managed to buy Cyborg at the festival) but here are lots of great European films too. And other places like Iran have a great film making tradition too. Hollywood movies can seem pretty boring and predictable after seeing a film like Perhaps Love from Hong Hong that just dazzle!For the first time, it's really possible to know and see most of the best the world has to offer!

  3. Tracy says:

    I have heard of Hula Girls and think it might be coming to dvd here in the states soon. I am not 100% sure though. I think I may have read it somewhere??? I did not know you had been to this festival!!!!! How cool is that! I guess I should have read more into these past posts! That must have been so much fun and I am glad you got to go and have a good time! ❤ I also agree that what you said about the Asians who have grown up here and how they can now see a piece of their culture. I love foregin films. (sigh) Have you seen Bride and Prejudice? It is an Indian film I heard about and it is supposed to be really good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

