Only Human by K – Theme Song from 1 Liter of Tears

Thanks to Peggy for first sending me this song and telling me about 1 Liter of Tears, an excellent Japanese drama based on the dairies of a young woman with an incurable disease named Ayu Kato. You most certainly will be moved and cry buckets! But her story is in ultimately uplifting and inspiring. To the end, she continued to write and help others facing the same situation.

Morningberryz mentioned that 1 Liter of Tears had been fan subbed in English! (It hasn't been commercially released.) You have to register, but Kioku Konseki fan sub group has done an outstanding job of subbing all the episodes, including the Special of what happened after Ayu's death.
It's a lot to 'torrent, but well worth it! Burn it to DVD and share with your friends, if possible. Since you can't buy it, it's the only way for most people to see it!

Artist: K Song: ONLY HUMAN Album: BEYOND THE SEA (2006)

Kanashimi no mukou kishi ni
Hohoemi ga aru to iu yo
Tadori tsuku sono saki ni wa
Nani ga bokura wo matteru?

Nigeru tame ja naku yume ou tame ni
Tabi ni deta hazusa tooi natsu no ano hi

Ashita sae mieta nara tame iki mo nai kedo
Nagare ni sakarau fune no you ni
Ima wa mae he susume

Kurushimi no tsukita basho ni
Shiawase ga matsu toiu yo
Boku wa mada sagashite iru
Kisetsu hazure no himawari

Kobushi nigirishime asahi wo mateba
Akai tsume ato ni namida kirari ochiru

Kodoku ni mo nareta nara
Tsuki akari tayori ni
Hane naki tsubasa de tobi tatou
Motto mae he susume

Amagumo ga kireta nara
Nureta michi kagayaku
Yami dake ga oshiete kureru
Tsuyoi tsuyoi hikari
Tsuyoku mae he susume

English translation from:  http://www.lyricsandsongs.com/song/635257.html

On the opposite coast of sadness
is something called a smile
But before we can go there,
is there something we're waiting for?

In order to chase our dreams, we can't have a reason to run away
We've got to go, to that far away summer's day

If we find it tomorrow, we can't sigh
Because like a boat that opposes the stream
we have to walk straight on

In a place worn down by sadness
something called a miracle, is waiting
Yet we are still searching
for the sunflower that grows at the end of spring

The warrior who awaits the morning light
before he can clasp it with red nails, his tears glitter and fall

Even if we've grown used to loneliness
only relying on the light of the moon
We have to fly away with featherless wing
just go forward, just a little further

As the rainclouds break
the wet streets sparkling
Although it brings only darkness
A powerful, powerful light
helps push us to walk on
 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About mikeymikez

Interested in music, film, good books and Korean culture.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Only Human by K – Theme Song from 1 Liter of Tears

  1. monkee says:

    I've already watched it on crunchyroll.com (Low Quality) and cried so much ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It really is a good show

  2. Mikey says:

    Glad you got to see it! I'll hae to sed you some more Klennex tissues! :)Thanks again for the pressie!

  3. monkee says:

    Haha I think you should save the tissues for yourself when you watch it :PNo worries…I thought you'll enjoy it hahahahaha

  4. Mikey says:

    I've already seen it. ๐Ÿ™‚ So, with my big reload of tissues, I thought I could spare you some… I was checking out some of the stuff on crunchyroll… anything you highly recommend?

  5. monkee says:

    Most of the stuff I liked is/was licensed but my cousin lent me "Hana Kimi" and I fell in-love ๐Ÿ˜›

  6. You're so wonderful to post these together!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I've read through the lyrics and I can already feel the emotion that this drama will bring…after watching the drama I will have to re-visit this post. Ah there's a lot of talk of Kleenex here and since I cry easily I'll be sure to have extra on hand. Commercials have actually made me cry…but I I'll keep those to myself. ๐Ÿ˜›

  7. Mikey says:

    I thought you would be the cries easy type. That's so sweet! But you would have to be a heartless beast not to cry for this one! Sorry if I gave too much away!I appreciate your sensitive side! (I'm gonna go buy some Kleenex stock!)

  8. Mikey says:

    Thanks for the tip! I will have to check it out! Have you seen 3:10 yo Yuma? Great flick! Hugs ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. hehee
    my fav drama of the year

  10. Mikey says:

    It's really great. So glad that I got to watch it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Ash says:

    I cried so hard while watching this drama, I highly recommend it.

  12. Mikey says:

    You're right. It's one of the best dramas I have seen.

  13. Haven't watched it yet. I might. Not sure if I am up to some heartstring strummings. My eyes could do well with a good flush, provided my heart can take the strain. lolThanks for recommending the song Mikey. Luv u for it. I fell in luv with the song instantaneously. Such raw emotion. Btw, I like Hana Kimi too!

  14. Mikey says:

    It's a good cry, but you don't feel used afterwards… ๐Ÿ™‚ The fansub English translation is great! After a while, you forget that you are reading it, not hearing it. I wish they would release it here in the US. I think a lot of people would buy it subbed and in Region 1 DVD. I know I would…Hana Kimi seems very funny so far. Monkee recommended it to me on Crunchroll.I will send you that song. ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Hope u can send as fast as u can…

  16. maykyaw says:

    i watched it -1 litre no namida- and liked it very much…..based on true story !!!Actress's acting is very good in her role.Theme songs

  17. Mikey says:

    Glad you liked it! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

