Shane’s Visit to San Diego

I started to post this Thursday morning, but VOX hosed up, and I zonked out, so here I am! ^^

My friend Shane from Florida came out on business, but had Wednesday afternoon free. I took the day off and met up with him in the Gaslamp District. (The old part of downtown San Diego, that has been rehabilitated with fine entertainment and dining places. Wyatt Earp lived there after the shootout at the OK Corral!) Shane was staying at the new Marriott next to Petco Park, the new San Diego Padres ballpark. He had the Presidential Suite, which was awesome! Fantastic views of the Bay, Petco Park, The convention Center, the Bay Bridge, Coronado, including the famous Hotel Del Coronado, where Some Like It Hot was filmed!

We went touring the local establishments, like Hooters^^, Cafe Sevilla (yah Gema!!), Hard Rock Cafe and the restaurant/bar that the widow of Jim Croce has called Croce's… We had a *real* good time!! 😛 Sleeping on the couch in the suite was moe comfortable than my bed! Especially with the magnificent HD 45" wide screen TV in there. I got up early and took a few pictures around the hotel and Petco Park. Shane had to be in Phoenix (where we were roomies many years ago) So we had a nice breakfast in the hotels outdoor restaurant, and I headed home… @@

Read and post comments

About mikeymikez

Interested in music, film, good books and Korean culture.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Shane’s Visit to San Diego

  1. ペギー says:

    hehe
    nice !! a good retreat for u to getaway from work

  2. DoriDori says:

    Love all the photos!I noticed Chinese Historical Museum..And the breakfast in such good presentation~

  3. Mikey says:

    Ya, it was nice! 🙂

  4. Mikey says:

    I thought you find that interesting! The Chinese community is pretty strong here. They even have Dragon Boat races on the bay in October! Breakfast was real nice too! Even an orchid blossom on the side! ^^

  5. Kat says:

    Wow, did you take all these pictures in one afternoon? 🙂 Amazing. 🙂

  6. Simple says:

    Some of the places are cool, such as DSC_0304. nice pic! very clear and bright. I noticed chocolate and ice-cream shop. LOL

  7. Mikey says:

    Wednesday afternoon and Thursday morning. I have a lot more on my Flickr account, if you are interested. Nice to see you here Jasmine! 🙂

  8. Mikey says:

    Girardelli is huge in chocolate making here in California! Be nice to visit, huh?? ^^
    304 is the San Diego Hard Rock Cafe! I've notated them better in Flickr… Lot's of nice places in the Gaslamp, especially when Shane is paying! 😛

  9. Virna says:

    Great pictures! Wow..I would like to visit them someday… *Sigh* It's a sad thing it's so far.

  10. Mikey says:

    Be nice for you to visit! Lots to do and a big Filipino community here also! You can get OPMs and there is a Jollibee! 😛

  11. Virna says:

    Haha! Really? Wow, I didn't know that Jollibee is so popular.

  12. Mikey says:

    Lots of Filipinos in SOCAL especially, so… They also have Goldilocks bakery too, lots of food stores and a place that sells OPMs! I met a lot of PIs on the Internet since I love Lea Salonga, Regine, etc. At the last place I worked, lots of Filipino ladies, so lots of Filipino food!! 😛

  13. Virna says:

    Haha, do you have any favorite Filipino food?

  14. Mikey says:

    Lumpia!!! Love it…

  15. Virna says:

    Haha. I love that too! They are usually served here during parties. Hmm..have you tried Adobo yet? That's meat (pork or chicken, actually it can even be veggies) with soy sauce and vinegar. It's my favorite! The Chicken Adobo my mom cooks is really great! Teehee.

  16. Mikey says:

    I love Chicken Adobo!!! Ladies made for me and pancit!! ^^ I bet your Mom's great stuff! I pass on bulut though… ;)Now I am hungry!! lol

  17. SerenityLife says:

    ICE CREAM! Looks like you had a blast. Thank you for sharing!

  18. Virna says:

    Haha. Hmm..most foreigners even Filipinos pass from eating bulut..or balot here. Haha! But I also like it. I got that from my Dad – he loves it! Hahaha.

  19. Mikey says:

    Didn't stop there this time… no my list though!! 😛

  20. Mikey says:

    Opps! spelled it wrong… I save all mine for you then! 😉 And durian too!

Leave a Reply

